Select Page

2013 Inductee – Westview’s “Chance”

Owner/Handler: Ken Neese
950 Champion Points
Legendary Status Champion
48x Champion
8 Super Major Championships
1 Major Championship

Whenever a new puppy comes on the scene it is an exciting time. That time for Ken and Dale Neese was in 2002 at the “Players Championship” in Ridgeway, MO when they introduced their new puppy, yellow lab Chance, to the BDC. Already stars of the PHU circuit and Wisconsin Series, Ken and Dale were now entering a new chapter in history and with dogs like Ali, Mesa, and Candy in their arsenal, they had a lot of dog power already.

Chance would not disappoint. “He came out of the box as eager as any dog I’ve trained and never looked back. He was by far the easiest dog I’ve ever trained in my career and the most intelligent!” Ken would go on to say, “He was not the fastest but the most thorough in the field with a great nose and every time I came to the gate with him I felt confident we could beat the fastest time.”

Chance had lightning quick retrieves and rarely fumbled a bird; actually jumping into Ken’s pocket to retrieve it. He would literally pound the birds on the nest and trapped more than his share. But while Westview’s Chance won many Championships including the first BDC World Championships in Doubles vs. Hey Joe, Newman and Lexus, he had an even larger impact on the game.

Chance would go on to Sire an incredible brew of amazing dogs. Those dogs would combine for 7 BDC World Championships to date, and many National Titles. He is the Sire to some amazing dogs in the game; namely, Drake, Tilly, Reba, Tikka and Dezi just to name a few. Those dogs have so far combined for over 6500 BDC Champion points.

The legacy of Chance and his contribution to the game can never be overstated. He enters the BDC Hall of Fame today with 950 BDC Champion points, winning 8 BDC Super Major Championships, one World Championship, and one Major Championship. He is one of the most important dogs to ever grace the game and he will forever be remembered.

Our Sponsors

Find us on Facebook

National Bird Dog Circuit

4 days 15 hours ago

Here are the current standings for Flushing Dog of the Year!

Region 1 Champion Points
Murphy-Earl Hacking (113) *Clinched

Region1 Qualifying Points
Mazey-Brian Roushar (188)
Keno-Mike Peterson (185)

Region2 Champion Points
Rosalee-Jerry Brost (227) *Clinched

Region 2 Qualifying Points
Ace-Ethan Scheffler (346) *Clinched

Region 3 Champion Points
Storm-Kyle Kerstetter (186) *Clinched

Region3 Qualifying Points
June-Dan Steingraber (289) *Clinched

Region 4 Champion Points
Terzah-Barbara Eskam (158) *Clinched

Region 4 Qualifying Points
Molly-Todd Perdue (333)
Bailey-Todd Perdue (332)
Sonny-Dan Cathcart (307)
Cam-Dan Cathcart (300)

Region 5 Champion Points
Mossy-Kip Burns (104)
Buddy-Bing Wesner (102)

Region 5 Qualifying Points
Mossy-Kip Burns (289)
Skye-Kip Burns (288)
Marley-Bryan Matthews (170)

Region 6 Champion Points
Red-Seth Woodall (74) *Clinched

Region 6 Qualifying Points
Beast-Matt Behe (209) *Clinched

With the Top Gun Championships being the last event of the season, we could see some changes to these standings. Regions 1, 4, and 5 could see some movement!

National Bird Dog Circuit

4 days 16 hours ago

Here are the current standings for Pointing Dog of the Year!

Region 1 Champion Points
Thor-Josh Tucker (53)
Scout-Scott LaPlante (47)

Region 1 Qualifying Points
Scout-Scott LaPlante (409)
Nala-Scott Lambert (336)

Region 2 Champion Points
Puckett-Bernie Birkenholz (254) *Clinched

Region 2 Qualifying Points
Letz-Bill Steeno (496)
Wolfgang-Bob Garrity (479)

Region 3 Champion Points
Sawyer-Tom Glynn (291) *Clinched

Region 3 Qualifying Points
Shooter-Richard Sipes (438)
Ralphie-Jack Heim (408)

Region 4 Champion Points
Ruger-Mike Pyle (197) *Clinched

Region 4 Qualifying Points
Riley-Kevin Eskam (676) *Clinched

Region 5 Champion Points
Sammie-Ron Ricks (130)
Rango-Mark Moyle (118)
Jeff-Mark Moyle (114)

Region 5 Qualifying Points
Sammie-Ron Ricks (658)
Mater-Ron Ricks (652)
Dasie-Holly Tompkins (540)

Region 6 Champion Points
Slick-Matt Behe (108) *Clinched

Region 6 Qualifying Points
Costa-David Register (205) *Clinched

We could still see some movement in the closes races in Regions 1, 2, 3, and 5.