Select Page

2012 – Max Wroten’s Baxter

Owner/Handler: J. Max Wroten
1597 Champion Points
Legendary Status Champion
80x Champion
2008 Flushing Dog of the Year
3 Super Major Championships
3 Major Championships
2 Major Wins

Max Wroten’s “Baxter” was certainly a one man dog when he burst on to the tournament hunting scene in 2001. Initially running in the NATHA series, he was a force to be reckoned with running against the likes of Elko, Hey Joe, Tahoe, Stash, Newman, Yukon and many other notables in the flushing division.

Max recognized early on that his dog was a champion waiting to be crowned. Max and Baxter worked very hard and practiced endlessly to turn him into a dog that would hunt and retrieve for any hunter lucky enough to take him to the line.

Baxter would eventually hunt and win tournaments with many different hunters, though only a select few could approach him in his truck. Baxter was actually a big baby and would be an affectionate and cuddly friend once he let you into his inner circle.

Baxter was an accomplished water fowler and spent countless hours in a duck or goose blind. He was a highly requested companion for the Youth Waterfowl hunts at the Minnesota Horse and Hunt Club.

Baxter’s last tournament run was on October 23, 2011, where, a month shy of his 11th birthday, Baxter led his long time partner, Max, to the BDC World Championship finals where they finished in 4th place.

Baxter leaves the game as the 3rd ranked high point flushing dog in BDC history with 1597 lifetime points and leaves smiles on the many faces of the competitors lucky enough to have competed with him.

A very special dog, Baxter will be forever remembered.

Our Sponsors

Find us on Facebook

National Bird Dog Circuit

4 days 16 hours ago

Here are the current standings for Flushing Dog of the Year!

Region 1 Champion Points
Murphy-Earl Hacking (113) *Clinched

Region1 Qualifying Points
Mazey-Brian Roushar (188)
Keno-Mike Peterson (185)

Region2 Champion Points
Rosalee-Jerry Brost (227) *Clinched

Region 2 Qualifying Points
Ace-Ethan Scheffler (346) *Clinched

Region 3 Champion Points
Storm-Kyle Kerstetter (186) *Clinched

Region3 Qualifying Points
June-Dan Steingraber (289) *Clinched

Region 4 Champion Points
Terzah-Barbara Eskam (158) *Clinched

Region 4 Qualifying Points
Molly-Todd Perdue (333)
Bailey-Todd Perdue (332)
Sonny-Dan Cathcart (307)
Cam-Dan Cathcart (300)

Region 5 Champion Points
Mossy-Kip Burns (104)
Buddy-Bing Wesner (102)

Region 5 Qualifying Points
Mossy-Kip Burns (289)
Skye-Kip Burns (288)
Marley-Bryan Matthews (170)

Region 6 Champion Points
Red-Seth Woodall (74) *Clinched

Region 6 Qualifying Points
Beast-Matt Behe (209) *Clinched

With the Top Gun Championships being the last event of the season, we could see some changes to these standings. Regions 1, 4, and 5 could see some movement!

National Bird Dog Circuit

4 days 16 hours ago

Here are the current standings for Pointing Dog of the Year!

Region 1 Champion Points
Thor-Josh Tucker (53)
Scout-Scott LaPlante (47)

Region 1 Qualifying Points
Scout-Scott LaPlante (409)
Nala-Scott Lambert (336)

Region 2 Champion Points
Puckett-Bernie Birkenholz (254) *Clinched

Region 2 Qualifying Points
Letz-Bill Steeno (496)
Wolfgang-Bob Garrity (479)

Region 3 Champion Points
Sawyer-Tom Glynn (291) *Clinched

Region 3 Qualifying Points
Shooter-Richard Sipes (438)
Ralphie-Jack Heim (408)

Region 4 Champion Points
Ruger-Mike Pyle (197) *Clinched

Region 4 Qualifying Points
Riley-Kevin Eskam (676) *Clinched

Region 5 Champion Points
Sammie-Ron Ricks (130)
Rango-Mark Moyle (118)
Jeff-Mark Moyle (114)

Region 5 Qualifying Points
Sammie-Ron Ricks (658)
Mater-Ron Ricks (652)
Dasie-Holly Tompkins (540)

Region 6 Champion Points
Slick-Matt Behe (108) *Clinched

Region 6 Qualifying Points
Costa-David Register (205) *Clinched

We could still see some movement in the closes races in Regions 1, 2, 3, and 5.